Über Moist Vegan Carrot Muffins

Baking is one my favorite things. It helps me unwind and clear my head. I came home from a really rough day at work today and these muffins were just what the doctor ordered. I love experimenting with new vegan recipes or veganizing old favorites. I’ll be the first to admit that many vegan baked goods come out dry especially when you try to reduce the fat content. These muffins have plenty of good stuff to keep them yummy and moist. You can use any combination of flours you like. “Healthy” muffins that I have made in the past have tended to be rather dense but this combination of flours yielded light and tender muffins. You can substitute agave or honey for the maple syrup and any other dry sugar for the stevia. Some people have an aversion to raisins (when I was little I thought they looked like boogers) so any dried fruit can be used. Next time I think I will use chopped dried apricots (one of my favs!). I am all about making recipes your own, which is why I give tons of suggestions for substitutions. Baking is technically a science so I try to stick to the basic proportions of recipes I find.

This recipes was adapted from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen Carrot Spice Muffins

Makes 1 dozen muffins

Dry Ingredients

3/4c Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

3/4c Oat Flour

1/4c Quinoa Flour

1/4c Stevia in the raw

1 TBSP ground Flax

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

small dash cloves

small dash nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

Wet Ingredients

1/3c maple syrup

1/3 c apple sauce

1/2c unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/4c water

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2c (about 4) shredded carrots – I just ran mine through the food processor

1/4 c raisins

1. preheat oven to 400 degrees

2. mix dry ingredients in large bowl

3. mix wet ingredients in a medium bowl

4. combine wet and dry ingredients, add carrots and raisins

5. batter will be very thick, spoon into muffin tins, sprinkle with rolled oats

6. bake 15-20 mins (mine were perfect at 15)

Behold….

ooooooo……

aaaahhhhh……

I did a rough estimate of the calories using Spark People.

1 muffin = 105 calories, 1.5 g fat

2.6 g protein/21 carbs/ 2.7 g fiber/ 8.3 g sugar

Thats a thumbs up in my book!

So, how was my first post? I’m hoping a get the hang out it and someday my blog will be awesome like Eating Bird Food, Clean Eating Chelsey, and My New Roots. Until then, bear with me on this journey.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: chocolate chip carrot muffins | the patron saint of pie

  2. Just curious how did you find my blog? I was kind of just blogging for myself right now until I get the hang of it and then I planned on kind of spreading the word. I think knowing someone actually read this gave me a little motivation to actually post more. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

