Vegan Voted Germany’s Strongest Man

Yeah that’s right… this guy is VEGAN

Patrik Baboumian source: Tiny Green Planet see link to article below

I stumbled upon this article a while ago so I know it is old news but I figure it may be new to someone. I have been thinking a lot about this kind of stuff lately because frankly I get tired of hearing negative things about the way I eat from people who have a certain stereotype about vegan/vegetarian/clean eaters. It seems that people always have some smart comment to make. I sent this article to my mom because she jokingly always tells me to eat a cheeseburger (usually as I struggle to do something). My mom’s response to this article was “when Germany names you strongest man I will stop telling you to eat a cheeseburger”. If this response came from anyone but my mom I would be irritated but it did indeed come from my mom therefore I found myself cracking up. I am very small and prior to the start of the new year was not consistently working and had not been for some time. Let me give you some background…

Like most clean eaters I did not start out this way. Everyone has a story, I’ll keep this short. I was a chubby kid. I probably weighed 20 pounds more than most of friends throughout elementary and most of middle school. 20 pounds may not seem like a lot know but let me tell you when you are a kid trying to play on the teeter totter 20 pounds is a lot. My mom feel bad looking back but she was just glad I was eating because when I was little I was always picky. Between 7th and 8th grade I really slimmed down to the point where teachers started to get concerned about me. Part of it was me going through a lot of emotional stuff and part of it was me consciously making an effort to pay attention to what I ate. It was then that I started working out. My love for working out only grew from there…

When I am consistently working out I feel so much better mentally and physically. Up until the start of the new year I had gotten out of a routine was finding it difficult to get back into the swing of things. It started in the beginning of the summer when I was preparing to move out for the first time. Since I am OCD and a control freak this consumed most of my time. Now that I have been on my own (and by that I mean with my wonderful boyfriend) for 6 months and into a routine of taking care of my own household I have made myself and my health a priority again. I have been doing yoga everyday (with the exception of a 3 day business trip) since new years eve. I have several DVDs and do anywhere from 35-50 minutes. I need to pump it up and push myself though. I want to develop more strength and muscle definition so I have decided to start lifting weights again. I am not much of a cardio girl but I LOVE weight lifting!

Today I started (along with practically every other blogger) day one of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer. I have never been able to do push ups (I can do chaturanga just don’t ask me to push myself back up to plank). Today I could do 2 of the wide push ups then I switched to girl push ups. While trying the first narrow push up I face planted.  A modification was in order so I did wall push ups. Even when I was in really good shape I was self conscious about working out in front of other people. Not only do I get nervous and lose concentration with a lot of strangers around me but I also have a weird phobia about other people seeing me sweat. So I plan on adapting the exercises so that I can do that at home with my weights and resistance band. If it gets to the point where I get up courage (or the more likely scenario that I need additional equipment) then I will join a gym. For now I’m working with what I got. I also plan on continuing yoga everyday to keep me calm and flexible.

Leave a Reply

