Blogging, Peanut Butter Rationing, and a New Friend

Winter has finally hit the midwest this week. Does anyone else find this weather a little alarming? Maybe I’m just paranoid but I feel like we are witnessing the serious effects of global climate change and no one wants to discuss it. The weather people on the local news have been joking all winter about the lack of snow and the uncharacteristically warm winter. I find it kind of bizarre. Rant complete.

The weather is has been bad and I really don’t want to leave the house but we are lacking most of the foods I eat on a daily basis. I used the last of the oats this morning. I need my oats! I have become obsessed this overnight oats. I’m pretty sure this is a requirement for being a healthy food blogger. Has anyone else noticed that?! There is one spoonful of peanut butter left. I rationed my normal scoop today for a very important lady…

Meet my new baby!

My boyfriend and I just rescued her this past week. Her name is Zooey (Deschanel!)and she is in desperate need of peanut butter. Zooey was found in a barn with her newly birthed puppies. In addition to nursing her own puppies at the Shiba Inu kennel she ends up at, she also nursed some other stray pups. This left her very underweight. When we brought her home she was not very interested in eating so being the genius that I am I made a little peanut butter sauce to put on her food. I’m hoping the extra fat and protein will really help her to put some weight on but I’m afraid she is already spoiled and won’t eat anything that isn’t smothered in peanut buttery goodness (like her mother).

As you can see we are in a state a peanut butter emergency which is forcing me to go out and brave the cold. I’m trying to plan out my meals for the week first because I really don’t do well with going into a store without a list. I run around like a carrot with her top cut off (keeping veg). I’m spastic. I buy things I don’t need and I forget simple things I do. I need order in my life or all hell breaks loose and I wake up Monday morning only to realize I forgot soap and we have to shower with the piney holiday scented hand soap (LOVE Method). Yes that actually happened. On a side note: that debacle (in addition to my slight coupon obsession) has turned me into a soap hoarder and we not have a dozen bars of Dove in the bathroom closet. That may be a different post.

Now I have to figure out what I’m going to make this week so I can stop being a bum and start being a better blogger.

I leave you with these questions:

Are you a blogger? How do you find the time to blog and do everything else you have to do? How long did it take you to get the hang of it? Do you have any suggestions for me? Do you love oats?

🙂

Leave a Reply

