Curried Coconut Roasted Banana Nut Muffins

The other day I picked up some of the new Earthbound Farms snack mixes. The Mandala Spice Coconut Cashew is definitely my favorite (and boyfriend approved). I almost ate the entire bag in one sitting which is something I never ever do.

I immediately had 2 thoughts: 1. this sweet and savory combo would be great in some kind of baked good 2. I absolutely must include bananas… and so these muffins were born… I mean baked.

Dry Ingredients

1c coarse ground oats

1 1/4c whole wheat flour

1/2c chopped cashews

1tsp baking soda

1 tsp curry powder (plus more for sprinkling)

Wet Ingredients

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2tsp coconut extract

1/3c coconut oil

1/4c honey

3 medium bananas (ripeness does not matter)

1/4c blended tofu (about 1/8 block)

2 flax eggs (1 tbsp ground flax seed + 6 tbsp water)

Topping Ingredients

Sucanant or sugar of your choice

More curry powder

Large flakes of coconut

First preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

I decided to roast my bananas (a tip I learned from my mom) to get a richer, sweeter flavor from them. I roasted mine for 20 minutes. You can skip this step just make sure you use really ripe bananas.

Bananas before…

Bananas after!

Assemble the dry ingredients: I ground 1c of oats in the food processor. You can just use oat flour if you want but I wanted to add a little texture so I ground them myself so that they ended up a little coarse. Combined with baking soda, flour, cashews (I used roasted unsalted) and curry powder. The curry powder I used also had salt. If yours does not you probably want to add 1/2tsp.

Next I took 1/8 of a block of tofu and ran it through the food processor until it was creamy. You can use 1/4c of soy yogurt but I never have it on hand. I always have tofu! Add tofu, liquid coconut oil (melt if necessary), flax eggs, honey, vanilla and coconut extracts, and cooled mashed bananas.

Wet ingredients meet dry ingredients….

Stir well but try not to overmix. Then spoon into greased muffin tins. You can use those fun little papers but my muffins always come out of the tin so beautifully I don’t bother. I topped my muffins with flakes of coconut, a sprinkling of curry powder, and a little bit of sucanant (you can use any sugar you want). Don’t bother toasting the coconut. It will get nice and toasted while the muffins bake.

Now into the 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. I cannot tell you how much self control it took to not open the oven door and grab a steaming hot half baked muffin and shove it into my mouth. The kitchen smelled THAT good! and I hadn’t eaten anything yet. So 25 agonizing minutes later (plus a few extra for cooling time) I sunk my teeth into one of these exotic beauties.

After creating this recipe I realized I have pretty much only blogged about muffins. This is rather humorous because eEven though muffin is one of my nicknames I rarely eat or bake them. I did a quick calculation of the calories in these muffins and remembers why really amazing ones usually aren’t a very good breakfast. They are extremely delicious though and good for an occasional treat.

Leave a Reply

