Jump back! Someone actually read my blog!

Despite forgetting to take my vitamins today I am feeling pretty good. Yesterday I had the worst stomach ache ever. I think it was because I had eaten a turkey sandwich (or I made myself sick thinking about the turkey sandwich). I had a funeral to go to and I was starving and I went against my better judgment and ate a turkey sandwich. I’ll chalk it up to momentary lapse of judgment due to grief. I don’t know why I get so worked up over these things. Sometimes I think 1. Whats the point of being a flexitarian if most of the time when I eat an animal product I feel guilty and 2. I feel weak because I can’t just commit and be completely vegan even though 90% of what I do eat is vegan which is definitely more than the average person.

Today I started out with a smoothie while I got ready before work. This is pretty typical. I pretty much have the same smoothie everyday with different combo’s of frozen fruit. Today’s smoothie: 8 oz water + splash orange juice + 1 true lemon packet + 1 tbsp brown rice protein powder + 1 tbsp phyllium husk fiber + frozen mango chunks

 At work I had my usual a cup of hazelnut coffee with 2 stevia packets. Lately I have preferred my coffee without almond milk. Around 9:30 I had overnight oats. Today’s oats: 1/3c multigrain cereal + 1/3 c almond milk (unsweetened vanilla) + cinnamon + 1 packet stevia + 1 very ripe banana. I add more water before microwaving. I skipped the peanut butter today and I really missed it.

 I was craving a comforting bowl of soup so Monday I made a big batch of what I called “Use it up Tuscan Soup”. I had that and half a peanut butter sandwich for lunch. This really sustained me which is hard to do. I didn’t feel grossly full but I didn’t even need an afternoon snack before walking the dog and doing 40 minutes of yoga.

Yes I know this picture sucks. Don’t judge. Scroll down, read the recipe, clean out your fridge and make some soup for goodness sake!

Use it up Tuscan Soup

½ eggplant that got shoved to the back of the fridge and ultimately froze

½ onion

3 cloves of garlic

2 veggie sausage patties

3 small potatoes

½ bunch of kale

4 c vegetable broth

About 1 glass of sauvignon blanc

1 can great northern beans, drained and rinsed well

1 large handful of sundried tomatoes finely chopped

Couple dashes liquid smoke

Freshly ground pepper to taste

A couple shakes each of fennel seed, basil, thyme, rosemary, and oregano

I basically made this soup how I make any other soup. Saute onions and garlic in a little olive oil. Add diced potatoes. Cook about 5 minutes. Add other ingredients except for kale and beans. (When making soup beans should always be added at the end otherwise they will get mushy and break apart). I simmered it for… a while… 45 minutes maybe then added the kale and cooked for a couple more minutes.

I am having a little difficulty with blogging because I have what I call grandmother recipes. I make a lot of stuff on the fly. Even if I use a recipe I make my own changes based on my tastes or what I may have on hand. It’s difficult for me to write stuff down and take pictures as I go. I am an extremely messy cook too. I use my phone to take the pictures for my blog and it usually ends up getting caked with bits of food which is DISGUSTING. I just got an email that someone actually read my blog and based a recipe off of my carrot muffins. I was shocked. I guess this means I have to stop being so lazy and actually work on this blog a bit more. I’m hoping I’ll just pick up some momentum and it’ll really take off.

Do you have a blog? How do you find time to blog and do everything else you have to do? Does it take you longer to prepare meals because you have to take the time to write things down and take pictures?

Leave a Reply

