A Case for Flexitarianism aka me convincing myself it still works for me

logo

My boss and his wife recently watched the documentary Forks over Knives and have since decided to try a vegan lifestyle. I would highly recommend watching this documentary. It definitely had an impact on my decision (and the boyfriend’s!) to eat mostly vegan. I have stuck to this better than he has but I’m not going to nag him about it. That is why I believe flexitarian eating is a really good lifestyle for some people. I am obsessed with food and I only choose to eat good food. I think everyone should be picky about what they put in their body in regards to both taste and nutrition. I try not to eat things that are bad fuel for my body but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to enjoy everything I do choose to fuel my body. This is why I choose to be “flexitarian” (it sounds so pretentious doesn’t it?) I love fish! I can’t help it. I know that fish and mussels and shrimp are animals too but they are not something I am willing to give up at this time. While I try the best I can sometimes I eat something that may have contained eggs or dairy. Last week I went to dinner with a friend and ordered pumpkin gnocchi without the goat cheese but didn’t think about the fact that there is an excellent chance there were eggs in that gnocchi. I ate it anyway and it was delicious and I felt bad about it at first but then I thought to myself…

“Melissa, it is highly unlikely that you even consumed 1 whole egg in that small bowl of gnocchi. Is this ideal? No. If I made this at home would I have used an egg? No. Its ok. It’s not going to kill you. It doesn’t make you a bad person (some people may disagree). Move on.”

Anyway….

My boss asked me for some advice and maybe some sources for vegan recipes. I compiled a list of my favorite vegetarian/flexitarian/vegan cookbooks and passed it on to him. Now I’m passing it on to you:

The Vegan Table by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau

Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Party Vegan by Robin Robertson

Quick Fix Vegan by Robin Robertson

The Vegetarian Meat & Potatoes Cookbook by Robin Robertson

Vegan Planet by Robin Robertson

Vegan Family Meals by Ann Gentry

The Flexitarian Table by Peter Berley

Super Natural Everyday by Heidi Swanson

Leave a Reply

